Altering/Transforming/Collaborating

May 7, 2009

In the last week or so, a couple of really interesting altered art projects have come across my computer screen that I wanted to share and pass on:

DSM Altered Book

DSM Altered Book

Altered DSM: Ron Huxley and some of his therapist friends created this altered book using the old DSM III (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual for Mental Disorders) and posted the photos on a Flickr photostream.  I love this idea!  Thanks Ron for sharing this project!  FYI: The book is available to show in galleries or conferences.

Over on The Altered Page, Seth Apter and other artists posted updates, reveals, and photos related to DisCo – the DISintegration COllaboration.  123 artists participated in this collaboration where “art bundles” were left exposed to the elements outdoors.  There are many “before” and “after” photos posted on the Altered Page, as well as on the blogs of those artists who participated.  Below is a short film from one of the other artists, Lee Anne Ghilain and her reveal:

The next phase of the project includes the artists taking their disintergrated bundle and making it into a new art piece.  I know I’ll be watching to see what transforms!

I always love to see how others use altered art and collaborative projects to explore different themes and topics. Feel free to post and suggest any interesting ones you may know of!

3 Responses to “Altering/Transforming/Collaborating”

  1. Sara Says:

    Thank you so much for posting these art projects:)
    I am especially inspired by the altered DSM! That is an amazing idea…
    I’m glad I found your blog and and am really enjoying it!

    Sara


  2. OMG!!!!!What an amazing blog..so glad I found you and Thank you for posting my DisCo video…..I will be back again and again.

  3. Seth Says:

    That altered DSM is so cool and so very clever. And I do love Nikki’s Disintegration piece. Thanks for highlighting it!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 705 other followers

