More from My Own Beautiful, but Altered Brain: Hindsight + Foresight = Vision | Gratitude Collage

May 5, 2012

The month of May over the last five years always reminds me to pay special attention to the concepts of hindsight, foresight, and vision. 

As part of the art and narrative I’ve started to work on for My Own Beautiful, but Altered Brain, it was five years ago this month that I experienced my first encounter with optic neuritis.  Optic neurtis can be a relatively common flare up for those living with some autoimmune diseases, but this was my first introduction…arriving overnight and sticking around for about three weeks.  

Lots of doctors appointments, a batch of IV steroid treatments, and some new MRI testing ensued while I lived in a world where initially I couldn’t even read the giant “E” on my neurologist’s eye chart with either eye.  Thankfully, my vision slowly restored to normal in about a month and the inflammation didn’t leave any serious permanent damage to the myelin surrounding my optic nerve fibers.

During this time of year, this experience especially offers me a constant reminder of appreciation.  This 5 x 4 gratitude collage on chunky stretched canvas provides an important visual reminder, acknowledgment, & celebration for hindsight + foresight = vision.  And on the back of the canvas I have written my many, many thanks with a little touch of kindsight.  :)

Hindsight | Understanding the nature of an event after it has happened.

Foresight | Providence by virtue of planning prudently for the future.

Vision | The act or power of sensing with the eyes; sight.

5 Responses to “More from My Own Beautiful, but Altered Brain: Hindsight + Foresight = Vision | Gratitude Collage”

  1. janmak Says:

    Lovely collage and great reminder to reflect and be grateful. Thank you Gretchen. :-)

  2. Theresa Zip Says:

    This is very moving- I think nursing and medical students could learn deeply from this way of telling… nice work, Gretchen.

  3. roshi10 Says:

    Thanks Gretchen
    gives us a bit of an idea what that is – you have a really useful and generous way of responding to it, sounds like a good way to be with something that unsettled you for sure!
    xx go well, and enjoy your lovely making of things

  4. Lani Says:

    Absolutely beautiful! We could all learn deeply from this way of telling.


  5. Gretchen, that must have been a very frightening experience for you. You have made a wonderful, moving piece of art. Thank you for sharing.
    Big love
    AJ :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 751 other followers

