Experience Matters: Inspiration from the 2012 TLC Childhood Trauma Practitioner’s Assembly

July 16, 2012

Experience Matters Gluebook Spread

I just spent the last week in Clinton Township, Michigan attending the National Institute for Trauma and Loss in Children’s 2012 Childhood Trauma Practitioner’s Assembly, Experience Matters.

The above image is a spread from one of my file folder bluebooks I am currently working on to visually document some of my travels and adventures in twentytwelve. This spread includes printed material and paper stuff I collected throughout the week at the conference, some items from the sessions I attended, the hotel I stayed at, a little distressed ink, Staz On ink, as well as using my  Smash Stamp and Smash Stick.  It was lots of fun to collect stuff, play with laying it out, and glue it all together!

I also created the image below as a creative way to take notes on a session I was attending about implementing a trauma group for adults.  The pre-cut figure shape fits really nicely in one of the file folder gluebook pockets!

In the workshop I presented, Finding a Safe Place: Creating Safety for Survivors of Domestic Violence through Art, attendees spent some of the session making a portable safe place in the form of an artist trading card with various collage materials. This special ATC serves as a symbolic safe place or image that can travel, become mobile, or easily be carried as a visual reminder and grounding tool for well being, comfort, and emotional safety. This ATC can also be displayed on a mini-easel, bulletin board, ones workspace, a nightstand, or become part of a journal (or for stashing in a file folder gluebook pocket!).

If you are interested to learning more about the topic I presented on, you can view the SlideShare here:

I’ve also pinned some content inspired by this year’s Assembly and workshops I attended on my Pinterest board about Trauma if you are interested in checking out any additional resources!

I am looking forward to returning back to Michigan next month to present for VCE’s Trauma Learning Series about the benefits of art therapy with traumatized and grieving children & adolescents…

3 Responses to “Experience Matters: Inspiration from the 2012 TLC Childhood Trauma Practitioner’s Assembly”

  1. Hannah Says:

    It’s amazing how the tangible presence of images + words capture the “in-corporated” feelings of trauma. Your method of taking visual notes makes so much sense–to re-member what you learned and in turn, for others to heal from what they’ve suffered. Thanks for sharing your week with us:-)

  2. janmak Says:

    Inspiration and educational. Thank you Gretchen, :-)

  3. theresazip Says:

    Great presentation! I don’t know how I happened upon this, but it is wonderful!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

