Today’s SMASH Booking: 6 Words to Discovering My Ikigai

September 19, 2012

Earlier this week Janet McLeod shared an inspiring post about Ikigai on her blog Positive Art Therapy.  Ikigai in Japanese connects us to the purposes or intentions that get us out of bed every morning to help bring happiness and meaning to our lives.  To learn more about the concept of Ikigai and how it can be applied to our daily life, career path, and relationships, check out this posting via the WorkLife Group.

Janet described a prompt she participated in that explored her Ikigai through identifying six intentions that described it in only five minutes.   After creating her list, Janet went a step further and created a file folder gluebook dedicated to her Ikigai– what a great idea!

Over at Lani Gerity‘s blog and also inspired byJanet’s post, Lani created some of her own art Ikigai art and a list using the same prompt. Lani also encouraged us to contribute to our collective Ikigai through taking five minutes to make our own list of six words.

This morning I woke up with Ikigai on the brain and put these six words on this list in my new SMASH book:

I think these six words (I know a couple are two!) are what gets me going and up every day, despite the challenges life can bring.   I believe Hope, Creativity, Loving Kindness, Growth, Inspiration, & Meaningful Connection are essential driving forces in my day to day life, the work I do, the choices I make, my well being, and in my relationships with others.

Thank you to Janet and Lani for sharing their experiences and Ikigai good vibes!  I would love to see more Ikigai!

3 Responses to “Today’s SMASH Booking: 6 Words to Discovering My Ikigai”

  1. dkahn28 Says:

    Reblogged this on Debbie Marks Kahn's Blog and commented:
    I adore this blog by Gretchen Miller!

  2. Lani Says:

    Love x 6 !!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 756 other followers

