Twentytwelve On the Go Adventure Gluebook

November 4, 2012

Earlier this year I started an adventure gluebook to visually document some of my travels from this year and as part of the 6 Degrees of Creativity e-workshop Creative Goodness with Gluebooks.  I’m super excited that I’ve finally finished this book, which is made from four repurposed file folders.

#twentytwelve #onthego

The contents of the pages (as well as for the page’s fun pockets!) are collaged of mostly items I collected on the go which included, but was not limited to: receipts, maps, stickers, stamps, flight stuff (boarding passes, baggage tags, etc.), ticket stubs, business cards, food wrappers, thank you cards, mini art I created, pins, and print materials from local tourist magazines, brochures, or related to the events I was attending.

I also used my SMASH stamp to date most of the pages, distressed ink for some of the page edges, added a little hand stitching, as well as used the wonderful collection of paper and creative goodness I received in the 6 Degrees of Creativity 2 Paper Stash Swap.

Sometimes I took this gluebook with me while I was traveling to work on in the hotel, on the plane, or to stash stuff. I always had a quart size plastic bag (or two!) with me full of goodies and supplies.  Other times I worked on the pages when I returned.  Working on each page was a great way to process the experience and events.

May: Arts, Military + Healing Conference : Washington DC

I think my favorite gluebooking material for this spread was all the maps I collected from around the Washington DC area featuring the city, landmarks, and public transportation.

July- TLC Childhood Trauma Practitioner’s Assembly: Michigan

In the pockets for this spread, I added mini art that I created at the conference or inspired by the program.

September- Ohio’s Buckeye Art Therapy Association Conference

I started to use some of my paper stash swap goodies I received in September for this spread.

September- Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Just before I left for my visit to SIUE, I received a portion of an Illinois map in another paper stash exchange that fit perfectly for this page!

October- Kansas’ Art Therapy Association Conference

I probably collected the most things while visiting Emporia!  My favorite gluebook addition here is probably the fortune cookie wrapper and fortune that I saved from the Chinese Buffet!

Birthday in Vegas

This page is dedicated to the week-end getaway we took to Vegas for my birthday and the various keepsakes I saved from this trip: stuff from our adventure to In and Out Burger, the Pinball Hall of Fame Museum, my filet mignon birthday steak, and fun fortune telling encounters.

October- Florida State University, Tallahassee

This spread pays tribute to FSU’s campus, which was so beautiful!

Gluebooking fun continues in a different form this week: it is the deadline for completed gluebook pages to be received for our exchange @ 6 Degrees of Creativity 2!  Stay tuned for photos and more sharing about this soon… go, gluebooking, go!

6 Responses to “Twentytwelve On the Go Adventure Gluebook”

  1. Lani Says:

    Sigh, this is wonderful! So good to review these!

  2. simplytrece Says:

    I love that you went to FSU. One of my bloggy buddies (Rachel Mims) goes there, and really enjoyed it!!

  3. Bebe Butler Says:

    lovely to look at…lots of yummy layering and stories there

  4. Hannah Says:

    Gretchen I love the detail shots that you share with us; the books look rich and layered, evoking the rich and layered experiences they hold. I also love the way that you can transform the mundane (ticket stubs, maps, food wrappers and the like) into the sacred.


  5. Thank you Lani Trece, Bebe, and Hannah!

    When we were at In and Out Burger (Vegas), Kevin couldn’t believe I was taking the paper bag the burger came in- I thought it would be perfect for this! It made another nice pocket to stash things in at the top of the page- lol!

    I super enjoyed doing this process- :)

  6. gonerustic Says:

    Now I know what to do with my growing collection of glued collages! Your spreads look great; lovely momento of your trip too …. =D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 751 other followers

