rev o’lution 2009: change/transformation

December 31, 2008

My rev o’ lution for 2009 is starting with those qualities I want to cultivate, build on and attract more of in this New Year:

Change–  Here’s a quote from the Philosophy of Andy Warhol that sums this one up for me:  “They always say time changes things, but actually you have to change them yourself“.  In 2009, I want to see change, be part of change, and live that change.

Gratitude– To keep recognizing who and what I have appreciation for  in 2009.  Even in my most stressful days, not to take the simple things for granted and be thankful.  The Gratitude List  speaks about gratitude “being like a key” that opens, inspires, heals,  and develops feeling, relationships, decisions, and possibility.  I hope to also engage in more of what Psychology Today blogger Cathy Malchiodi calls “random acts of art“. Creating art or other creative goodies for others in the spirit of kindness and thankfulness to honor special times, occasions, or just because. 

Calm– If you read my last posting, 12 Simple Words for 2008, you know that letting go is not something that comes easy to me.  I am sure this year will also be challenging. I hope to keep working on relaxation and having increased calmness in my 2009 life.  Gotta finish my altered book on detachment for starters.  

Health–  Here’s to another year of my myelin behaving and keep doing what I have to do to help make this happen.   

Leadership– I’ll be posting more on this in 2009- dont’ worry, stay tuned.  I have been thinking a lot about leadership, creativity, and what these needs mean to me. I have strong beliefs about the good, the bad, and the ugly surrounding this topic. Good leadership is something I want to see, be, and understand more in 2009.

Openness– This one is very important for my 2009 rev o’ lution.   I thrive in an environment where I can work with others who value the philosophy of openness. Openness involves having free access to information, sharing resources, and welcoming the opportunity to contribute and collaborate on projects and goals together.   It’s very different from working in a “closed system” where people often experience isolation,  there is a lack of transparency, and the only interaction with surroundings are restricted to moving inside the system.  I believe the philosophy of openness has great potential for my 2009 life, especially after breaking free in 2008 from some closed systems and making some decisions on how to best direct my energy elsewhere.  I also view openness as how we relate to the world: with imagination, emotional awareness, curiosity, and a need to seek diversity, the creative arts, and strive towards innovation.  I have high hopes that lots of open collaboration, amazing ideas and new opportunities will present itself.  And I know that from this, great things will happen.

Voice– Here’s to a 2009 where I can use my voice to build, empower, and work on taking action through crafting new possibilities and awareness.  I hope this includes mastering my voice, understanding more about the power of my voice, its connection to myself, others and stimulating change, as well as how my voice can impact what’s important in my 2009 life.

Trust– What is trust? One definition that ChangingMinds.org offers is, “being able to predict what other people will do and what situations will occur. If we can surround ourselves with people we trust, then we can create a safe present and an even better future”.  To develop this in my own life, this year I will continue to nurture myself with those people I respect, who value integrity, compassion, well-being, authenticity, and are accountable to their choices and decisions.   I hope to live up to the same to what/who is important in my life.  ChangingMinds.org reminds us that if  “you do it (trust) well, other people will give you the earth.  If you betray them, they will hunt you to the ends of the earth.”  I absolutely agree.

Soooo….. that’s my rev o’ lution for change/transformation during 2009. What does your rev o’ lution look like? For more on how to start your own, check out the e-book Piece to Peace: Collage Your Way to Inner Harmony and other cool stuff to feed your artist soul on Artella.

Here’s to the beginning of an incredible, creative, and successful New Year!

4 Responses to “rev o’lution 2009: change/transformation”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Very interesting…you are always sharing good nuggets of wisdom that get me thinking, sharing, and connecting…
    Happy New Year,
    Nicole


  2. […] my first of many thoughts surrounding the topic of leadership and creativity. As I wrote in my rev o’ lution posting a few weeks ago, good leadership is something I want to see, be, and understand more this […]


  3. […] to reflect on what words would be on my list for this year.  Many of these words come from my 2009 rev o’ lution which really helped me focus on change and transformation concepts important to me this year.  I […]


  4. […] been posting recently on my 2009 rev o’ lution and recent reflections on this from the past year… I was excited to see the rev o’ […]


Leave a Reply

