Creating and Living with Intention

January 9, 2009

I recently read this post about Living Willfully in 2009 by Karin Marcus, where she invites readers to consider making intentions for 2009.  I enjoyed her article because the practice of making intentions is something I have engaged in for many years, usually manifesting through my art.  

I usually start by creating a visual representation of a desired idea,  purpose, action or goal. Then I focus on making this intention develop and happen through commitment and focus.  I also believe in the law of attraction- i.e. when you put your ideas and desires out there,  that opportunities, people, and situations will present themselves to help make your intention happen and become a reality.

This has happened many times in my life– especially related to my professional life.  Whether I was experiencing changes related to employment, career goals I was aspiring towards or trying to develop more opportunities to share my love of art therapy….creating intentions has been really helpful for inviting new possibilities, energy, and a hopeful outlook in my life.

Below is a visioning collage I did five years ago (2004) and looking at it now, it is amazing how much my life, work, and many of the wishes, hopes, dreams I had for myself have developed.  This collage was very much rooted in: “Don’t sit down and wait for the opportunities to come, you have to get up and make them“.  The last five years I have been working hard, reaching out, taking risks, and taking action- on many different fronts and in ways I would have never imagined.  This image documents and acknowledges how much I have grown and the progress I have made.  What was driving me then, helped me to become the person I am now and where I am going in 2009. 

Visioning Collage / 5 Years Ago

Visioning Collage / 5 Years Ago

It makes me wonder how my intentions for 2009 will impact the next five years… hmmm…

4 Responses to “Creating and Living with Intention”

  1. jackie glover Says:

    that was great, Gretchen! thanks for taking time to put that out.


  2. I’m glad you enjoyed the post Jackie– thanks for taking the time to read it! Best wishes, -gretchen

  3. Ashley C Says:

    I love this! I am going to repost it on my myspace! If that’s ok with you. Wonderful post…and is very similar to what I have done:)


  4. […] validated my own practice of visioning through art-making and writing.  As referenced or posted on here before, I have found that making my ideas, hopes, and dreams visible through these creative actions have […]


Leave a Reply

