Getting Addicted to and Making Art with Polyvore

August 9, 2009

This week-end I stumbled upon Polyvore, a free on-line web application and creative community that allows users to create works of art called “sets” from mixing and matching images from all over the web. The site is primarily style and fashion driven, with lots of brand selections to choose from, such as endless catalogs, stock photos, and image content. It is easy to keyword search for images or install a “clipper” to import images from other websites, and begin dragging and dropping items to arrange, layer, and create your set. In addition, you can add text to what you have put together, choosing from many different types of fonts. It’s also easy to share your sets with the Polymore community, its many groups, or with your own social media network.

After exploring Polyvore a little more to create my first “set”, it did not take long for me to become hooked. I had a lot of fun searching for images, designs, objects, and words that I could use. Below is the first image I put together with only a few images from searching different Polyvore categories.

BeTrue
BeTrue by Gretchen Miller on Polyvore.com

After playing around with Polyvore a little more, including a few drafted and published sets later, I started to incorporate more images/content and experimented with layering.

rev o' lution
rev o’ lution by Gretchen Miller on Polyvore.com
Learn, Live, Hope: Never Look Back
Learn, Live, Hope: Never Look Back by Gretchen Miller

It was difficult to stop once I got started! Lots of opportunitity to be creative, become inspired, and share…. I’m sure I’ll be creating many new sets soon with this new discovery and as I learn more about what Polyvore has to offer. Check out new additions of images I created here. Tips and suggestions are welcome!

4 Responses to “Getting Addicted to and Making Art with Polyvore”

  1. Fendell Pillsbury Says:

    Hi Gretchen.
    Love the stuff you did! Polyvore is addicting. I love it for getting ideas when I feel a little flat.
    Poppy is a mutual friend.
    Best,
    Fendell

  2. Megan Graf Says:

    THANK you for this post… i created an account a year or more ago, but never explored its uses because i assumed (silly, i know) it was only for fashion use. i love what you’ve done here, and i’m trying to find my password right now so i can explore the site again (and procrastinate on my school work… dun dun).

    xo


  3. […] website until I stumbled upon Art Therapist Gretchen Miller’s blog post, “ Getting Addicted to and Making Art with Polyvore” […]


  4. […] still  need to remind myself of these lessons.  My discovery of and addictive art-making with Polyvore this year really helped me reflect and focus more on these concepts […]


Leave a Reply

