Gratitude Rolled Up in Canvas

November 29, 2010

This week marks an important transition related to finishing my second term as President of Ohio’s Buckeye Art Therapy Association (BATA). Back in December 2009 when I was starting to create my 2010 revo’lution, I knew this moment to-be was going to be an important piece to this year’s events in my professional life.  And now the moment is here.

As my tenure as BATA’s President comes to a close, I am most proud of the hard work that has been done related to increasing BATA’s membership, Symposium attendance, creating more financial stability, enhancing BATA’s web presence and resources/tools on-line, as well as cultivating service, leadership, and advocacy in the Ohio art therapy community.

I am not only grateful to members of BATA for their support and entrusting me to lead this Association throughout these last few years, but I also have tremendous appreciation for the BATA Board of Directors I have served with for their help to make the above successes happen.  I am thankful for their commitment to BATA and assisting this organization to continue on as one of the largest and most active state art therapy associations in the country.

This coming Saturday will be our final board meeting together and a time to pass the leadership torch onto the 2011-2012 BATA Board of Directors.  To express my appreciation of their service, support, and help, I created gratitude scrolls for each board member to receive at our last meeting. This idea was inspired by Leilani Pierson’s pocket scrolls featured in the July/August issue of Cloth Paper Scissors and a gratitude project that Cathy Malchiodi introduced in her Courageous Creativity course taught at this year’s Prescott College Expressive Art Therapy Summer Institute.

These scrolls were created from pieces of canvas that were sewn, gessoed, painted, stamped, embellished with trinket pins and wire, as well as included layered messages of thankfulness and gratitude that will be rolled up inside.

During my six years involved with the BATA Board of Directors, I definitely have a new appreciation for leadership’s bigger picture and the teamwork success requires,  I have also learned important lessons about service that have contributed to strengthening my future purpose and intention about how I can continue to serve the art therapy community.

Looking forward, I am excited to focus more of my time to Art Therapy Without Borders, Inc. and the communities of The Art Therapy Alliance and International Art Therapy Organization to help promote, develop, and support art therapy initiatives and the work of art therapists worldwide.

Best wishes to BATA’s new leadership and continuing the important mission of advancing art therapy in Ohio.

One Response to “Gratitude Rolled Up in Canvas”

  1. Lani Says:

    Wow, I’ll bet there won’t be a dry eye in that meeting, not one! You are such an inspiration!
    Love,
    Lani


Leave a Reply

