2011 revo’lution in motion & made visible

December 28, 2010

Introducing my 2011 revo’lution made visible!  As a re-cap for first time Creativity in Motion readers, for the last few years I have been practicing a year end tradition of creating my “revo’lution”, a process where I identify intentions that I want to focus more on and strengthen throughout the upcoming year. I then create images in response to these concepts and make an annual revo’lution book as a visual reminder.

This year’s intentions include: Truth, Choice, Nurture, Imagine, Inspire, Change, Freedom, and Passion. Below are images from this year’s altered board book I created to contain these eight concepts. Book spreads were created with a combination of magazine photo collage, stamping, vintage dictionary pages, distressed ink, and Tim Holtz’s idea-ology embellishments.

Something new that I experimented with was taking all the image photos on my iPhone using the Urbian Inc.’s Retro Camera app to feature in the gallery above and in the short film below:

Many of the intentions I chose this year focus attention on concepts related to continued growth, authenticity,  and of course, creating.  I believe 2010 revo’lution lessons and periods of letting go, reclamation, and transitioning have built a strong foundation for 2011 opportunities, exciting projects, meaningful relationships, and partnerships.  In my professional life this year, I am looking forward to having more energy, space, and imagining for new ideas related to what I am passionate about and creating ways to share these experiences with others through my work as an art therapist and trauma consultant, as well as my community organizing for The Art Therapy Alliance.

So what does your revolution look like?  What are intentions you would like to focus on and develop/sustain/strengthen throughout your 2011 life? It’s a great time to gather your revo’lutionary ideas and thoughts as this new year approaches and do some visioning through art!

Stay tuned here as my 2011 revo’lution in motion unfolds throughout the year!

8 Responses to “2011 revo’lution in motion & made visible”


  1. Hi Gretchen, I love your idea of an intention book. I
    ususally do an intention collage at the begining of the New Year,
    but the book format is a wonderful idea. Thanks for all the great
    work you are doing, setting wonderful, and broad seeds for art
    therapists!! Blessings in the New Year.

  2. kattalina Says:

    as a book artist, (MFA) i really like this idea. i might do a spin off of this idea. will keep you posted.

  3. kattalina Says:

    what is the song on your video and can i get it on itunes? tx


  4. Thanks Caterina and Kattalina! Love intention collages as well… Love to hear what others do with their art-making around the end/beginning of the year to bring meaning… Thanks for sharing…

    Kattalina the song in the video is called Anything by M. Puckett- I hope this helps!

  5. Devora Says:

    Outstanding production quality! Were you a filmmaker in a previous life? Gotta check into that Retro Camera. Yeah, new techgadgets still floats my boat…


  6. […] the entire books (wow!) being created and shared.  After the last few years of annually creating my own revolution book and sharing it with others sorta on my own through this blog, social media, and video, […]


  7. […] is that time of year where I begin to eagerly review my revolution created at the beginning of this year, as well as start to think about the revolution and intentions I want to create and welcome for this […]


  8. […] week I have started to take an end of the year look at my 2011 revo’lution.  For the last few years I have been practicing a year end tradition of creating my […]


Leave a Reply

