The Joy of Sock Monkey Making

October 13, 2011

I recently created my first sock monkey thanks to Kat Thorsen’s Sock Monkey Therapy workshop @ 6 Degrees of Creativity.  Meet Arygle!

I used a pair of black and red argyle knee high socks that I hadn’t worn in awhile. I was curious what this design/pattern would look like as a sock monkey and was happy with the results!  Below are some photos I took while my sock monkey was in the making:

Kat is telling the truth when she says that you will never look at a pair of socks the same again!  Ever since I finished Argyle, every time I see a pair of long length socks I envision them as a sock monkey!  Argyle was easy to make with Kat’s awesome video demonstrating each step. This process was so much fun and I cannot wait to make more!  It is also fun to see some of the sock monkeys that participants are already posting in the 6 Degrees of Creativity community (one from Australia, another from Canada this week)!

Learn more about Kat’s work and passion for sock monkeys on her blog Sock Monkey Art Therapy.  Kat is also an Operative for Operation Sock Monkey a “volunteer-run initiative in support of humanitarian organizations that provide laughter, hope and healing to communities around the world affected by disease, disaster and social/political turmoil” through providing some sock monkey love to those in need.

Thank you to Kat for introducing me to the joys of sock monkey making!  And I look forward to visiting Argyle at his new home with Nicole Brandstrup… I hope he is behaving himself!

3 Responses to “The Joy of Sock Monkey Making”


  1. Welcome to the world, Argyle! And welcome to the obsession, Gretchen!


  2. […] As posted here in October, 6 Degrees of Creativity instructor, sock monkey guru, craftivist, and art therapist Kat Thorsen has been the wonderful inspiration for bringing the joy of sock monkey making into my life and so many others in the art therapy community! […]


  3. […] friendly welcome for Albert from my sock monkeys I have created already in Kat Thorsen‘s Sock Monkey Therapy workshop via 6 Degrees of Creativity. Albert seems interested in art […]


Leave a Reply

