Gluebook Goings On @ 6 Degrees of Creativity 2

August 18, 2012

In my last post I featured some of the paper stash swapping activity happening in my online workshop Creative Goodness with Gluebooks @ 6 Degrees of Creativity 2. In today’s post I wanted to share some of the gluebooking happening!  I’ve enjoyed seeing how participants create their own gluebook with their paper stashes or day to day collected findings and keepsakes using the introduced file folder or paper bag book making technique.

Both of these gluebook types also contain pockets as part of their design, which makes a fun component to consider and develop as part of the gluebook’s theme for additional paper stashing, secret holding,  creative inspiration, or as a safe place to contain pieces and bits important to the gluebook’s process or intention.

Natalya gluebooking in Australia!

Natalya enjoys some gluebooking with her organized paper stashes of plastic bags that contain magazine images, words and paper organized into different categories.  Some workshop discussion has explored how we store, organize, or collect what we use for our collaging, art journaling, and gluebooking, in our personal art-making space, as well as with others.  In my own creative space at home I have most of my  magazine photo collage images and words divided by theme (people, places, objects, animals, words) in shoe box size or slightly larger plastic containers and my paper stash collection in a large cardboard box for rummaging through easily.

Emma’s Brown Paper Envelope Gluebook

Emma recently started a gluebook inspired by the brown paper bag idea, but used A5 envelopes instead.  Neat!  Emma intends to use this gluebook as a way to stay centered and connect to her creativity through developing a reflection practice on a regular basis.  She also has intentions for the gluebook’s pockets to hold special writings and images.  You can see examples of these and more about Emma’s gluebook on her blog, Stitch Therapy.

Kathy’s Gluebook: My Art

Kathy’s gluebook is repurposed from the file folder art journaling technique and is dedicated to inspiration and ideas for her art, as well as to use her gluebook space as a means to organize images she has been collecting from the Internet and everyday surroundings.  Below is a photo of one of the pages inside of her file folder gluebook holding some of the creative papers & findings she wants to use!  Kathy’s use of color file folders reminded me of this possibility and we’re not just limited to the plain, basic manila folder!

Paper stashes inside Kathy’s gluebook

Laura’s Gluebook: Materials & Inspiration

Laura’s file folder gluebook is focused on material exploration and the inspiration they hold!  As seen on Laura’s gluebook cover, fabric or textile swatches (or could be paint samples and such!) are great materials to re-use creatively to create lots of color, design, and texture to play with.

Thank you to Natalya, Kathy, Laura, and Emma for allowing me to share their images & work!

My 6 Degrees of Creativity 2 Gluebook

Marina’s paper stash I received in the swap has been sitting on my studio table all week reminding me to get my next gluebook started. I also received another paper stash swap surprise this week from Nancy (thank you!), so I finally made some time to start the background cover, back, and inside pages for this gluebook dedicated to 6 Degrees of Creativity 2 and all its happenings. I’m inspired on a daily basis with the ideas, updates, art, blog posts, and exchanging that takes place in all the workshops, with its instructors, and community members.  I am creating a space and keepsake for these collected inspirations and musings for not only now, but to call on in the future as a collection of creative affirmations from this awesome community!

Gluebook (back) with additions from Nancy’s paper stash & her kind note!

There have been more reports of gluebooking fun from paper stash swapping material received!  Check out what Lani did with some of her paper stash goodies she received from New Jersey to use with her daily morning page practice!  And look what Susanna received from Tennessee this week!  So much creative nurturing and good vibes…I can’t wait to see what develops throughout the rest of this year!

4 Responses to “Gluebook Goings On @ 6 Degrees of Creativity 2”

  1. Sara Says:

    wonderful! so neat to watch this unfold…

  2. Hannah Says:

    This is lovely Gretchen–I appreciate your enthusiasm–it is a glue that holds many pages together!


  3. [...] very meaningful and enjoyable.  I used an old file folder to make the book itself following Gretchen Miller‘s instructions.  I had saved some city maps that I used for the background and bits and [...]


  4. [...] a barking good case of bronchitis laid me up for a week. While I was there, I decided to explore Gretchen Miller’s workshop, Gluebook Goodness, a part of 6 Degrees of Creativity 2. (I figured I could work on it in [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

