Strengh in Hand: Merging the Perception of Reflection with Reality

October 23, 2012

“In art, the hand can never execute anything higher than the heart can imagine. ” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

I’ve been inspired by this art prompt from Lani and Susanna (thank you!) over at the 14 Secrets for a Happy Artist’s Life community that presents the challenge to find images merging the perception of reflection with reality:

Hand Reflection

On Sunday (also my birthday), I took this image of my hand surrounded my mirrors. The photograph reflects at the same time (via the mirror and camera lens) the outside/top of my hand, as well as the inside/palm of my hand.

The image of the hand and its meaning has a lot of wonder for me (to create, comfort, express, help, feel) but on this day my hand extends strength radiated by the light coming from my fingertips (like a superpower!) activated and visible only in the reflection.

6 Responses to “Strengh in Hand: Merging the Perception of Reflection with Reality”

  1. Hannah Says:

    Gretchen, I like the notion of taking the portrait of your hands in Las Vegas, a virtual palace of mirrors. And your comment that your fingers extend strength, which is only visible in the reflection is such a great metaphor for art therapy. So many times we can’t see our own strength, love, intelligence, courage, etc.–but when we use our hands to make art that quality reveals itself.

  2. Lani Says:

    Love this!


  3. Thanks Lani! This prompt and the concept was fun….and the photo was quite a surprise! 🙂


  4. Beautifully said Hannah! Thank you- I agree 100%!

  5. Jolie B Says:

    wonderful for so many reasons Gretchen; thanks for the post


Leave a Reply

