Through a Grateful Lens: Following the Light

October 29, 2012

We have all the light we need, we just need to put it in practice.  ~Albert Pike

Since June, I have been taking photos of light with my iPhone and often posting them to Instagram.  Over the last five months this practice of “following the light” has become a mindful reflection for gratitude, good energy, hope, inspiration, love, and connectedness.

June sunshine beaming gratitude

As I put the collection together for this post, the moments in each of the photographs are very memorable.  I remember fondly the details about where I was, who I was with or what happened during the unfolding, beginning, or ending of that specific day and moment of the photo.

July’s glowing sun shines down

Often my photos of followed light were taken of the sun, sometimes the moon, or perhaps light reflected through a window or on a mirror.

Breathing in this August sunset

Through this process, the significance of light became a means to shine the way, be in the moment of what’s true and pure, as well as experience & share loving kindness and thankfulness for life’s abundance.

September sunset

The light in these photographs are inspired by not only nature or the surrounding environment, but also an inner connection of strength to manage those times when the light has trouble shining through or darkness begins to ascend. Being in the presence of light represents resiliency for me.  These photos also remind me that some amount of light is always present somewhere: to find, to become, to grow, to shine, find comfort in, and be grateful for.

Light before the storm: October

The entire collection below includes 24 photographs I’ve taken in a variety of places: at home, work, on the go locally, or travels I’ve made this summer and fall to Michigan, Missouri, Illinois, North Carolina, Nevada, Kansas, and Florida.

Click on the image below to see the Flickr set of each image and description:

Following the Light Collection: June-October

6 Responses to “Through a Grateful Lens: Following the Light”

  1. Lani Says:

    As always, awesomely beautiful! Thank you for posting this. Also wasn’t there some sort of fortune teller interaction in Nevada along these lines?


  2. Thank you Lani! Lots of gratitude for your beautiful & warm light that always shines…. Yes, there was a fortune teller surprise when I was in Vegas :)- in the middle of our interaction she told me to “follow the light”- which was awesome considering this series and other stuff I’ve been working on…. I almost stopped breathing when she said it, but then I took a deep breath and smiled– happy to be on this path….

  3. Hannah Says:

    That’s an amazing comment that Lani brought up about the fortune teller–and I am amazed by this series; by the energy you bring to capturing the light and sharing it with all of us in all of the ways you do.

  4. Jolie B Says:

    Very nice collection – you are truly a light chaser!


  5. […] through using my iPhone to take pictures of light and then sharing them on my Instagram feed.  Last fall I shared my first collection in this series that documented light photos taken since May […]


Leave a Reply

