My Beautiful, Altered Brain | Altered Book

November 18, 2012

Here are some altered book pages I’ve been working on for My Beautiful, but Altered Brain series.  I transformed a children’s board book with some of the photos I had made of the digital art I created of my MRI scans with some text content from the recent issue of Momentum Magazine, the quarterly publication of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.

Altered Book Pages | My Beautiful, Altered Brain

 This altered book includes 10 years of my MRI scans and shares my experience.

I’ve also been creating more digital art with the most recent MRI scans that I just had:

During my neurology appointment this month, I gave my neurologist one of Elizabeth Jameson‘s beautiful catalogs that I received from her a few months ago to keep sharing her inspiring work and the grateful impact her art has had on me throughout this year.  My altered book is dedicated to Elizabeth and her reminder that “the brain- even a brain with a disease- is beautiful, complex, and intriguing“.

8 Responses to “My Beautiful, Altered Brain | Altered Book”


  1. Gretchen, this post is so moving, you’ve taken something that would freak a lot of people out and made something beautiful. Thank you for sharing, maybe it freaks you out too, but you are a brave and amazing woman and I am so pleased to have you as a friend. Stay strong.
    Big love
    AJ 🙂

  2. Marian Lancaster Says:

    Beautiful Gretchen! You are such a good role model for art therapy! Thanks for all you have done so far in your life and for all the wonderful work that I know is ahead of you!
    Marian Lancaster

  3. Rosie Says:

    Yes, I agree totally. Gretchen, you take something I can feel the fear in, and walk right into it, you push what might just hide inside of us, right out and sing it into another kind of joyous being….
    Thank you, your courage gives me courage to so something with my own fear!

    what is it Marge Piercy says about ‘strong women? ‘Strong is what we make each other’ … I appreciate you sharing this with us so much.

    go well
    have a great week there!


  4. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Really amazing post from Gretchen Miller

  5. nanayane Says:

    what a wonderful idea…I never got copies of my MRI way back when…I’m pretty sure my brain’s a bit worse for wear…knowing me if I did get copies I’d decoupage a table or chair or perhaps a big canvas with assorted diddle dee do’s to dangle and swing…hmmmm…tempted next time I go to the dr to see i f I can get copies of the assorted scans I’ve had…you are a wealth of intriguing ideas!


  6. Gretchen these are beautiful. I felt so moved with you sharing them.It is a brave move sharing in this way.And clever.The altered brain altered A Creation of an alternate reality. Really gorgeous


  7. […] recent issue of the quarterly publication of the National MS Society for the art of this blog post: My Beautiful, Altered Brain Altered book. {which I […]


Leave a Reply

