Create It Forward

January 12, 2013

Last month I joined the #26acts movement to help honor victims of the Sandy Hook shooting with creating 26 Paper Hearts and then incorporating each one into works of art for others as an act of creative kindness.

#26acts

I’m not completely done with all 26 acts yet, but about half of the tags, envelopes, and cards have already been mailed to friends, given to co-workers, or left randomly around the city. I’ll be finishing up the rest of the paper heart art for this project over the week-end and will thoughtfully send out the remaining hearts into the world with the intention of remembrance, gratitude, and honor.

I also got in on some 2013 Creative Pay-it Forward fun this week (thank you Kit & Lani!) and look forward (ha!) to this adventure throughout the year.  It was really neat to see these Creative Pay-it Forward requests spread with re-postings and eager interest to give & receive.

I’m inspired to also extend this fun here to Creativity in Motion as well: The first 5 people to comment on this blog posting will receive sometime in 2013 an artful surprise from me.  It might be a paper stash collection, artist trading card goodies, or maybe a sock monkey!  There will likely be no warning & it will happen whenever the mood strikes me over the next 12 months.  The catch? Those 5 people must make the same offer on their blog to pay forward the creative goodness…

Create It Forward | Creativity in Motion

Also on my create it forward list this month is starting to work on artist trading cards for Pocket Change: Creating Change through Small Creative Acts, which will be cultivating the same spirit and concept through making, exchanging, and mobilizing art for good among its participants and others in need of some creative goodness.  There’s still time to sign up for this ATC exchange (by January 15) if you are interested in joining us!

Let’s see how we can keep creating it forward all year long!

9 Responses to “Create It Forward”

  1. Emery Says:

    What a great idea Gretchen! I hope I am one of the first five, but even if I’m not thank you for the inspiration and I’ll be posting this on my blog today. 🙂


  2. #1 Emery- yay! I’ll e-mail you privately for your address!

  3. Janet Says:

    Hi Gretchen I would love to be a part of it and love to pay it forward in this part of the world. Kindest Janet


  4. Sounds good Janet! You have claimed the #2 spot– 🙂

  5. Erin Says:

    Hi Gretchen….yet another creative exchange that I’d love to join in on.


  6. […] and more of #3:  Time to play with scissors and glue!  I also need to start working on my second Create It Forward goodie to send out this month to someone on my […]


  7. this sounds wonderful! I’d love to hear more about this project/program and participate.


  8. i really, really want to join in. what a magical project!


Leave a Reply

