My Top 10 Favorite Things to Glue: Glue It Tuesday

April 2, 2013

A few weeks ago, Aimee over at Artsyville introduced Glue It Tuesday– and for a collage making, gluebooking geek like me it’s like a special holiday that happens every week! Thank you Aimee!  I also love that this cut & paste celebration connects other #glueittuesday enthusiasts together on Instagram and Twitter, as well as on the Artsyville site so you can check out what other gluebookers are doing with their sticky fingertips and be inspired!

Take a peek at what’s happening for today, Week 3 here.

Top 10 Stuff To Glue- Glue It Tuesday

Today’s Glue It Tuesday got me thinking about all the things I like to glue in my collage work, 365 project, gluebook, and art journals.

In honor of today’s Glue It Tuesday, I decided to make a top 10 list of the stuff I love to glue and add it to my smashbook:

1. Magazine photo images:  My favorite mag to use includes Cloth Paper Scissors (!);

2. Exchanged paper stash goodness:  It’s always so much fun and another layer of connection to use the wonderful paper bits & pieces I’ve received from others in paper stash swaps/mail;

3. Dictionary pages:  I’m addicted to ripping up dictionaries for words and definitions to add to my collages;

4. Quotes: I’ve noticed for my 365 project, I’ve been searching for and printing out quotes to sometimes use as part of that day’s intention or on the flipside as additional meaning to describe the image;

5. Hearts: There’s something I really enjoy about the act of cutting a heart out of paper & adding it to my art;

6. Hands:  I often find the image of a single hand as a very sacred addition to what I am working on;

7. Fragments:  Gluing these plastic pieces on top of paper backgrounds, words, and images helps create protection and containment in many of my collage pieces;

8. Numbers:  Totally inspired by my 365 project, I’ve discovered the joy of gluing and adding numbers to my work from sources such as bingo cards and old calendars;

9. Smash Stuff:  I’m a big fan of using Smash Stickies, Labels, & Pads for gluing down in my art journaling and smashbooking;

10. Handmade Paper:  I love the texture that adding handmade paper creates to my work.

What would be on your Top 10 list of favorite things to glue?

11 Responses to “My Top 10 Favorite Things to Glue: Glue It Tuesday”

  1. aimee Says:

    your collage work is always so awesome… i’m thrilled you’re sharing your work with us! xoxo

  2. Lynn Says:

    I’m a big fan an collector of dictionary pages and hands as well. I’ve never met a hand (or an eye…I love eyes!) that I didn’t like.
    Great list of stuff to glue.
    Lynn

  3. Erin Says:

    Great post Gretchen!

  4. storybeader Says:

    opps, moving too fast – lost my post I believe. I did say I like your heart, and whole page. I would never have cut into a book a few years back, but now I love ripping into my worn-out dictionary! {:-Deb

  5. Ros Says:

    I love map pages from an atlas however I am often reluctant to get stuck into them because I love them so much.

  6. Marit Says:

    Haaa… such a fun and creative take on ‘glue it tuesday’ – I love to see your list!

  7. nuvofelt Says:

    Thanks for pointing me towards Glue it Tuesday. I’m joining in for the first time with Layers of Collaboration. A lot less glue was involved, but I did do more than one. I’ve more planned in the near future!

  8. Bev Says:

    I have to agree with your list – I use all of these things. It is just the act of coolaging bits of this or that that is so enjoyable. Great page!

  9. gypsy999 Says:

    Interesting question! My response in no particular order: 1. Hand-painted papers. 2. Hand-printed gelatin prints. 3. Japanese washi papers. 4. ticket stubs. 5. maps. 6. magazine images. 7. found text + quotes. 8. photographs. 9. exchanged colorful bits. 10. tea bags.


  10. Thanks all– inspired! Maybe I’ll expand to a top 20 list soon 🙂

  11. thalia Says:

    I always feel like my inner child is playing when I collage, cutting out images and quotes and glued them all together. But now I do it to please myself, not anyone else.


Leave a Reply

