Book Spine Poetry Challenge: Reflections on Connection, Kindness, & Resiliency

April 19, 2013

Spine Poetry- National Poetry Month

In honor of National Poetry Month, Susanna (thank you!) shared a Book Spine Poetry Challenge posted by Making Books.  This challenge involves creating a poem with the spines of books stacked on top of one another.

As I looked at my books in my creative space last night, I was drawn to arranging my book spine poem as a comforting combination about connection, resiliency, as well as love & empathy for a world that can be scary and in pain:

In an Unspoken Voice: Life Doesn’t Frighten Me

This I Know.

What to Do When You’re Scared & Worried:

A Sky Full of Kindness

Walks in Life’s Sacred Garden.

Born for Love… Drawn Together

On the same day I discovered Susanna’s book spine poetry, it was a nice fit to read this blog post, Healing with Words, Rhythm and Voice published by the National Institute for Trauma and Loss in Children (TLC), also highlighting National Poetry Month and ways poetry can be used in therapy.

The books I used in the above poem can be found here:

4 Responses to “Book Spine Poetry Challenge: Reflections on Connection, Kindness, & Resiliency”


  1. Reblogged this on sexinthekitchensink and commented:
    Great idea, I’m sharing it with my blog readers too-but all the credit goes to you-Ms. Gretchen Miller-you are just so fabulous.


  2. BTW Gretchen are you aware that there is a national poetry therapy group? Here is a link: http://www.poetrytherapy.org/
    I am not a member but when I can afford to join I might…It does interest me. (Probably, I would re-new my membership with AATA first, if I had the cash!)
    Just wanted to let you know, there are those out there who practice poem-therapy too.


  3. […] Last week I saw this idea on Gretchen Miller’s blog, Creativity in Motion, to create a poem from the spines of stacked books. Here is her post: https://gretchenmiller.wordpress.com/2013/04/19/book-spine-poetry-challenge-reflections-on-connection… […]


  4. Amazing …I love this:)
    I came across it a while back on Quinn’s blog (http://quinncreative.wordpress.com/2012/04/23/finding-poetry-on-book-spines/) and since then I can’t stop LoL .)


Leave a Reply

