Mail Art & Dictionary Inspiration

May 12, 2013

I’ve been working on a collection of summer themed art cards for another one of Christine’s mail art exchanges:

Summer Mail Art

I used some sturdy 4 x 6ish cards then cut & paste some paper bits to create suns, as well as added some distressed stain, ink, acrylic paint, sheet music scraps, ink, and of course, one of my collage loves: dictionary page pieces.

Summer Mail Art

Sunshine, sunlight, sunrise, sunbeam, summer….

My Dictionary

It always delights me that whatever words I am looking for (depending on the theme, emotion, need) can still be found in my tattered  dictionary dedicated to this art making purpose.  So many of the pages are torn out, missing, previously used- but the right words always seem to be there waiting for me.

Painting Dictionary Pages

This Creative Dictionary Paper Techniques tutorial and video inspired me to experiment some more with not just word bits & pieces from my dictionary, but with the sheets I’ve torn out.  I had fun playing with some Dr. Martin’s concentrated watercolor, which added a nice touch of color to the pages.  Once I get some more gel medium, I’m going to experiment more with its effect as seen in the Joggle‘s video!

Painted Dictionary Pages

Keeping with the dictionary inspiration, I also worked on art for this month’s Creative Pay It Forward recipient: collaging dictionary pages on a large file card with some handstiching around the edges:

Creative Pay It Forward May

Are there fun ways you’ve been inspired to incorporate dictionary pages into your art-making?

2 Responses to “Mail Art & Dictionary Inspiration”

  1. Fiona Says:

    Great stuff, Gretchen. I collect old dictionaries and use them in many of my artworks. My experience is the same….there is always just the right words to be found! I especially love dictionaries that have little pictures alongside some of the definitions. I like your concentrated watercolours!

  2. Denise Cooper Says:

    Hey Gretchen-Thanks for sharing the tutorial on the dictionary paper. Also your pieces are beautiful and inspirational!


Leave a Reply

