Twentythirteen Creating on the Go: My Mobile Art Stash

September 7, 2013

 In preparation for upcoming travel, I’ve started to think more thoughtfully about creating on the go again and what common art-making essentials I’ll need to bring with me…. especially in relationship to my daily 365 revo’lution making!

For my day to day art making out & about, I usually have a Ziploc baggie with me of papers, words, collage stuff, as well as a gluestick & scissors for cut & paste fun. This year I’ve also started to carry around a small paperback dictionary, ChitChat word stickers, and Label Letters inside the quart size bag to use with my 365 project.

Creating on the Go: My Mobile Art Stash | creativity in motion

Bits & Pieces

Creating on the Go: My Mobile Art Stash | creativity in motion

While it’s a very nice treasure hunt to use this method, I thought my mobile art stash required a little organization upgrade to make it easier to figure out what I’m really working with. To replace my Ziploc bag, I bought a small plastic accordion file folder (in the $1.00 bin at Target!) that fits everything really well, including the dictionary!

I also re-purposed this tin to nicely stash my Smash Stick (my favorite glue and pen combo!), scissors, paper cutter, ink pad, marker, and pen in:

Creating on the Go: My Mobile Art Stash | creativity in motion

I’m excited to put this new mobile art stash into practice!

Creating on the Go: My Mobile Art Stash | creativity in motion

Here are a few other inspiring ideas & examples for art-making on the go!

Create a Travel Art Kit | Daisy Yellow DPP #18

My Traveling Art Studio | Dirty Footprints Studio

Traveling Zendoodles | Positive Art Therapy

*****

Related Posts:

Art Therapy Happenings & Goings On: 2013 fall on the go

Daily Paper Prompt: Dictionary Inspiration

Twentytwelve On the Go Adventure Gluebook

One Response to “Twentythirteen Creating on the Go: My Mobile Art Stash”

  1. Hannah Says:

    o.k. Gretchen–you’ve inspired me! I’m sitting here in Palo Alto in our hotel before a family reunion–and I’m going to assemble a small portable art stash. I know my sister has some needles and thread and there are some lovely bamboo leaves, waiting to be sewn together, just outside our room! Muchas gracias!


Leave a Reply

