Firewalk Inspired Smashbooking

September 9, 2013

This week-end I participated in something I’ve wanted to do for years…the experience of firewalking.  Every September, Common Ground Center for Renewal in Oberlin, Ohio holds an annual firewalk and this year I finally made it…and wow…it was so very worth it…

Firewalk Preparation | creativity in motion

Firewalk Fire Preparation

For me, something about taking on this challenge greatly called to me as an unique opportunity for continued transformation and growth, as well as to explore trust & faith.

Our certified firewalking instructor Dave Tuscany led us through an amazing empowerment workshop while a fire 15 feet long burned for 90 minutes. A news piece about the evening can be read here.

Firewalk Feet | creativity in motion

Firewalk Feet

As I silently approached the sacred space of hot coals and embers, this glowing pathway was something I was surprisingly eager to travel on rather than fearful. There was such a strong energy and atmosphere of positive affirmation and intention that when it was finally my turn to walk, I did so without hesitation.  I felt no pain or burning on my feet…only a warm, nurturing & determined feeling coming from within and surrounding me.  Beautiful.

Firewalk Ashes | creativity in motion

Firewalk Ashes

As I was leaving the event that evening, I took some of the firewalk’s ashes as a special keepsake of this important experience. The charred pieces of ember were still smoking and full of heat as I shovel them into the wooden box I brought with me.

Firewalk Ash Create Hand | creativity in motion

Creating with Firewalk Ash

As I reflected on my experience the next morning in my smashbook, I did so with a shifted sense of freedom, peace, renewal, and astonishment. As I worked, my fingertips smudged the images and pages with the sacred pieces of charred embers:

Firewalk Smashbooking | creativity in motion

Firewalk Smashbooking- Filtered (Click to enlarge)

To help the young soul, to add energy, inspire hope, and blow the coals into a useful flame; to redeem defeat by new thought and firm action, this, though not easy, is the work of divine man.”         ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Related Posts:

Dictionary Art Inspiration, Branch Strengthening, & Smashbooking

Adventure Visioning: A Page From My Smashbook

Through a Grateful Summer Lens: Honoring Our Light

6 Responses to “Firewalk Inspired Smashbooking”

  1. Lani Says:

    Wonderfully inspiring! Thank you Gretchen!

  2. fwammes Says:

    Wow. What a cool experience. We recently finished our firewalk certification with Peggy Dylan and now are giving firewalks in the Netherlands. I really like the idea of giving some of the ashes to the participants. Indeed as a reminder of a great experience. Thanks for sharing your experience

  3. dawnsrays Says:

    That is awesome!! I would love to do a fire walk someday, too.

  4. Bebe Butler Says:

    Brave woman! I shall live vicariously through you…looks like it was beautiful adventure


  5. Amazingly awesome and totally inspiring – as usual!!!! Thanks for sharing!


  6. Gorgeous pages Gretchen..looks like a rich experience. I am in the process at present of applying for the MAAT course in Auckland (Arts Therapy) and am relating to the walking on fire..shaping my path. x


Leave a Reply

