Daisy Yellow’s ICAD Challenge: An Exciting, New 3×5 Adventure Begins

June 7, 2014
Daisy Yellow's ICAD Challenge: An Exciting, New 3x5 Adventure Begins | creativity in motion

Some of my ICAD Week 1 Supplies

This week was the beginning of Daisy Yellow’s ICAD Challenge!  Yay!

I know I’ve been creating on index cards everyday this year as part of my 3×5 365 project, but participating in ICAD is like a new, exciting chapter to this creative process. This challenge hosted by Tammy Garcia is in its 4th year, but this is the first time I am participating!

My first seven ICAD Challenge cards are inspired by Week 1’s Text Theme:

Daisy Yellow's ICAD Challenge: An Exciting, New 3x5 Adventure Begins | creativity in motion

Day 1- My ICAD boarding pass

 

Daisy Yellow's ICAD Challenge: An Exciting, New 3x5 Adventure Begins | creativity in motion

Day 2- Dictionary inspiration

 

Daisy Yellow's ICAD Challenge: An Exciting, New 3x5 Adventure Begins | creativity in motion

Day 3- Choose your words

 

Daisy Yellow's ICAD Challenge: An Exciting, New 3x5 Adventure Begins | creativity in motion

Day 4- Journey to eesilience

 

Daisy Yellow's ICAD Challenge: An Exciting, New 3x5 Adventure Begins | creativity in motion

Day 5- Text collage

 

Daisy Yellow's ICAD Challenge: An Exciting, New 3x5 Adventure Begins | creativity in motion

Day 6- learning the art of how we learn

 

Daisy Yellow's ICAD Challenge: An Exciting, New 3x5 Adventure Begins | creativity in motion

Day 7: stay close to your inner self

I tried to purposefully use simple materials to visually explore text: from dictionary and old calendar pages, a page from a paperback’s index, an old airplane ticket, baggage claim stickers, magazine print, & tiny printed words I already had in my paper stash, as well as scrapbooking paper.  Other materials I mostly used were distressed or stamping ink, washi & masking tape, and wite-out strips.

I really enjoyed working on a theme dedicated to text and discovering different ways to express it. I don’t think in the consecutive 520+ days I’ve been doing my 365 projects that I have spent an entire week intentionally focused on just one concept.  As I reflect on this week’s collection, I connect to the strength & liberation in the single cards, the images the words collectively create, and the series all together.

I’ve also enjoyed the community, connection, and inspiration of the Daisy Yellow ICAD Group and the awesomeness of seeing so many different index cards of art, materials, techniques, and ideas. It’s refreshing and inspiring to have probably 90% of my newsfeed taken over by a creative flood of 3×5 or 4×6 art.  Love!

I am looking forward to starting ICAD’s Week 2 Theme dedicated to all things collage and my favorite creative superpower of gluing stuff together!

Thanks to Tammy at Daisy Yellow for all the inspiration, enthusiasm, & index card love we get to enjoy together over the next two months. 🙂

******

Related Posts:

Creative Challenge: ICAD 2014 is Coming!

3×5 365 Begins

Daily Paper Prompt: Dictionary Inspiration

4 Responses to “Daisy Yellow’s ICAD Challenge: An Exciting, New 3×5 Adventure Begins”

  1. gypsy999 Says:

    Gretchen, What a beautiful post! I’m thrilled that you are playing along with the index-card-a-day challenge. It’s been just wild!!!


  2. i’ve been having so much fun—! Grateful for ICAD!

  3. SueM Says:

    A fabulous post – love your cards too.

  4. Corgifeet Says:

    Great stuff! The first photo is a great assemblage!! Love it!


Leave a Reply

