The Power of Art: Healing Imagination VI @ Ursuline College

June 14, 2014
Photo: Sr. Kathleen Burke, PhD, OSU

Photo: Sr. Kathleen Burke, PhD, OSU

What a pleasure it was to attend another opening of Healing Imagination — 2014 celebrates VI (!)– an Art Therapy Juried Exhibition at Ursuline College’s Florence O’Donnell Wasmer Gallery.

It was great to see so much beautiful art on display in a variety of mediums & forms: painting, sculpture, mixed media, textile, collage, photography, and more from Art Therapy and Counseling faculty, students, and alumni.

I am grateful that we were able to come together and honor the importance and practice of art making as artists and art therapists in this way.  To see the creative work of my colleagues, art therapy friends, and students in this collective showing is so energizing & inspiring.  How wonderful that the creative process and power of art is so essential in our work, service, and in our own lives.

The Power of Art: Healing Imagination VI | creativity in motion

My contribution to the exhibition was my 2013 365 revo’lution project and 2014 revo’lution altered book.  It was super nice to be reunited with both pieces again in the gallery.  In my creative space where I keep my 2013 365 project, I often take a look at the piece of art I created 365 days ago.  I’ll reflect on what the intention was, where I created the piece, and the materials I was using.  Looking at last year’s tiny image also helps reframe the present and recognize areas of growth & transformation that have taken place since making the piece 365 days ago and how it has supported my 2014 revo’lution.  So it’s been weird not having both pieces of art around! 🙂

While there have been small moments of anxiety separation from both of these pieces, it is refreshing to have my revo’lution projects visit this new space and fun to have others experience it outside of the virtual sharing and computer screens of social media and the Internet.  Thank you to Ursuline College’s Art Therapy & Counseling Program for the opportunity to be included in this show, bringing us together in this way, and continuing the Healing Imagination tradition!

The Power of Art: Healing Imagination VI | creativity in motion

In case you’re in the NE Ohio area and want to check the exhibition out,  The Healing Imagination VI is on display until August 1 at the Florence O’Donnell Wasmer Gallery on the campus of Ursuline College.  Gallery hours are Tuesday- Friday, 12 – 5 PM, as well as Saturday and Sunday, 1:30 – 4:30 PM.

*******

Related Posts:

Healing Imagination V @ Ursuline College

Heart Space: 365 Days of revo’lution making

Prepare > Intent > Create > Transform: ready for revo’lution [2014]

2 Responses to “The Power of Art: Healing Imagination VI @ Ursuline College”

  1. rosie Says:

    Good on you putting your work in there Gretchen- you look happy and it looks great in there! thats exciting… lovely for other people to see it, and share in your ideas too xx have a good week!

  2. Hannah Says:

    Gretchen,

    I wish I could be back in the land of my forebears (Cleveland Heights) so that I could see this exhibit! I think that the effort of art therapists to show work; to offer an insight into our process is an important one. Thanks for sharing–as always:-)


Leave a Reply

