3×5 Journeying Into & Through

June 21, 2014

“…And for most journeys, we need a map…” ~Patti Digh

This week’s theme for Daisy Yellow’s ICAD Challenge was focused on all things maps. It has been lots of fun to work on different creative concepts combining my 3×5 art making with map making.  I used a variety of maps I’ve collected….. from maps I have picked up in hotels, local & regional maps, prints of maps in magazine catalogs, and maps gifted to me in paper stash swaps.  On the 3rd day of this theme, I was also inspired by researching maps of the hand.

As this week’s ICAD theme comes to a close, I’m spent time today reflecting on themes around finding, discovery, navigating, & adventuring.

3x5 Journeying Into & Through |  creativity in motion

My companion for today’s reflection was the book, The Geography of Loss, by Patti Digh which I took off the bookshelf in my creative space this morning as I looked over the 3x5s I created this past week.

“The word map: A process of seeing, of charting, of knowing, or journeying into and through.”

 

3x5 Journeying Into & Through |  creativity in motion

3x5 Journeying Into & Through |  creativity in motion

3x5 Journeying Into & Through |  creativity in motion

3x5 Journeying Into & Through |  creativity in motion

3x5 Journeying Into & Through |  creativity in motion

3x5 Journeying Into & Through |  creativity in motion

3x5 Journeying Into & Through |  creativity in motion

I often include paper hearts in my 3×5 art (and art journaling for that matter!) and the map theme really inspired its inclusion even more. As a compass of sorts.

Today, post 3×5 making and having these maps & paper hearts before me, I re-visited Digh’s section on thematic mapping for widely opening our hearts (Part 2).  Digh prompts us to create a metaphorical map of our heart and to think about what’s inside,  what/who opens or closes this heart, to honor what is by honoring what was, and to feel the difference between a heart that is protected and one that is free & open.  Inspiring stuff….. 🙂

I love this combination of heart & map making…. As I worked on each of these cards the intention of progress, readiness, and journey honoring was definitely on my 3×5 making brain.  It’s nice to see the series together, as well as pieces of the terrain that create a larger perspective.

I look forward to continuing ICAD’s themes for weeks 4-6! 

******

Related Posts:

Heart Space: 365 Days of revo’lution making

Artful Hands & Hearts: Honoring Community

Creative Compass of Hope: Happy Artist’s Life Navigating, Reflecting

 

5 Responses to “3×5 Journeying Into & Through”


  1. Fantastic journey, wonderful ideas thank you.

  2. iampeacenow Says:

    I love this. And we are all, after all, on a journey. Peace

  3. Hannah Says:

    Gretchen,

    I was quite moved by these maps. the love you put into these locations is palpable.

  4. pamelaarts Says:

    I love those map collages — thanks for sharing. Very inspiring.

  5. Sandy :) Says:

    Your map ICAD’s are wonderful.. Thanks for sharing.
    Sandy 🙂


Leave a Reply

