Exploring Covenant Based Caregiving with a Creative Twist

August 26, 2014

Covenant /ˈkəvənənt/  (noun) : A promise. An agreement. A commitment.

Back in June I was inspired by the concept of “covenant based caregiving” and thought that creating an altered book to honor my values & beliefs & explore my interest in this topic would be a creative, interesting endeavor for this fall.

What are your promises to yourself that you can make about living, working, loving, being, becoming, believing, promoting, striving, and seeking that support covenant caregiving vs. “on demand” caregiving?

I’ve started to brainstorm my list of promises (and then fancied it up with Recite) to get the creative process going:

Exploring Covenant Based Caregiving with a Creative Twist | creativity in motion

I’ve been saving a small children’s board book to alter for this very project. I have started to strip away the glossy, coated pages and paint backgrounds of color on the raw surface underneath with acrylic paint.  It’s the same process I love doing for my ready for revo’lution books every year– I find it so freeing and liberating to prepare the spaces for my altered books in this way. Removing and clearing out the old, to set the stage for something new.

Exploring Covenant Based Caregiving with a Creative Twist | creativity in motion

Beginnings

I hope to share my progress here on how things are developing with this new project! I am excited to finally begin…. 🙂

******

Related Posts:

Journey to Resilience: Takeaways & Creative Offerings

Self Care through Creative Practice & Intention: Gratitude

Self-Care through Creative Practice & Intention: Affirmation

 

5 Responses to “Exploring Covenant Based Caregiving with a Creative Twist”

  1. deboraheh Says:

    Ohh Gretchen! Thank you! This looks like a juicy sort of project I could enjoy too! Please keep us posted oh Creative Goddess!

  2. akelsowrites Says:

    Odd, but my Instagram profile is quite similar: Be aware. Stay curious. Keep learning. Seek reactivity. Celebrate beauty. I’m just a work in progress. Aren’t we all?

    Somewhere I found you. Love your art therapy. If I had it to do all over again, I think I would have done that instead of traditional teaching. Or maybe interior design, or…well something more personally creative. Right now, I’m getting the day’s job done, and working to “stay curious” which was always my philosophy when teaching, and in my life too. 🙂

    Have a good one. Anna Kelso Instagram.com/annakelso


  3. I love this concept and greatly appreciate your blog!


  4. […] I was so impressed by today’s post regarding covenant based caregiving. […]


  5. Wow I love this Gretchen!!!


Leave a Reply

