Creative Deed 365 Artful Beginnings: Creating It Forward in 2015

January 15, 2015

Today I am celebrating the first 2 weeks of my Creative Deed 365 Project– Yay!

It’s gotten off to a good start! I remember last year when I started my new 365 project, it took me a little while to get use to it– not the making art everyday part, but just finding my rhythm and connection with beginning something new and different at Day 1 again.  This 2015 creative daily practice is a departure from the 365 art I’ve worked on the last 2 years, in that I am not keeping what I create or cultivating a collection from each day, but instead giving it away in the spirit of hope & paying it forward through random acts of creative kindness.

Creative Deed 365 Artful Beginnings: Creating It Forward in 2015| creativity in motion

Handful of Peace | #creativedeed365 14/365

This is a process I’ve really been enjoying a lot!  I continue to value the time I make daily to create and the wonderful bonus is it’s so liberating and fun to release and gift this art into the world. Another part of the fun are the other almost 100 creatives who have joined the Creative Deed 365 Group on Facebook to share their own process, art, & drop offs, as well as contribute to creating an encouraging community to support our art-making adventures.

Creative Deed 365 Artful Beginnings: Creating It Forward in 2015| creativity in motion

Yours to Keep | #creativedeed365 12/365

So far I’ve left my creative deeds in a variety of places when I have been out and about: outdoors & inside of stores, parking meters, left behind at local coffee shops or eateries, a college I was at for a speaking engagement, and I’m starting to use the mailing list of individuals who would like a Creative Deed randomly sent to him/her sometime this year.  The giving away act of this 365 project is very exciting and challenges me with curiosity about where, when, and how to leave the art behind…. and what it’s new life & home will be….

Creative Deed 365 Artful Beginnings: Creating It Forward in 2015| creativity in motion

Every Moment | #creativedeed365 6/365

I’ve been using mostly gel pens, sharpies, stamping or distressed ink and stain with magazine photo collage words to create my creative deeds. Each piece of 3 x 2.5 art continues to be labeled, dated, and signed on the back and is enclosed in a small plastic bag.

Creative Deed 365 Artful Beginnings: Creating It Forward in 2015| creativity in motion

Creating It Forward | #creativedeed365

This week I had my first encounter with someone who discovered one of the Creative Deeds I dropped off inside a local Starbucks (Yes!) .  I was delighted to discover the find through searching the creative deed hashtag on Instagram:

Creative Deed 365 Artful Beginnings: Creating It Forward in 2015| creativity in motion

Creative Goodness Found! | #creativedeed365 11/365

As always, I am curious to see how this new project unfolds over the year…..!  You can follow this project and activity on social media through #creativedeed365 on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram if you’re interested in getting your own daily dose of creative goodness. For more inspiration, you can also read about other art therapists who have taken on 2015 creative practices:

2015 Aspirations | ArtHeals Austin

#108 Out of 1000 Ways to Have a Happy Artist’s Life: Gift Your Art | Lani Puppetmaker

Transitioning Into 2015: Journals and Creative Deeds | Symbolic Projections

*****

Related Posts:

Introducing: Creative Deed 365

2014 Compassion Games: The Creative Deed Team

The Joy of Art Abandonment

One Response to “Creative Deed 365 Artful Beginnings: Creating It Forward in 2015”

  1. iampeacenow Says:

    This is so wonderful… I actually became teary eyed.


Leave a Reply

