Have Art Supplies, Will Travel: Summer 2016 Mobile Art Stash

May 29, 2016

I am starting to put together some supplies that I want to take with me as I prep for an upcoming workshop I am attending soon and other on the go adventures. It’s been awhile since I really assessed my traveling art stash situation. This was a good excuse to restock materials, get some new ones, and organize/re-discover existing creative goodies I can use while on the go.

This month Lisa Sonara also shared this inspiring post about art supplies and journals she packs when traveling and it gave me some great ideas and new suggestions to consider.

 In June I am looking forward to attending an art journaling Master Class facilitated by Lani Gerity. I was excited to receive her list of suggested art supplies to bring to compliment the basic supplies that we’ll be using.

Have Art Supplies: Will Travel | creativity in motion

I took one of the tips that Lisa offered about using a cosmetic bag for art supply storage. I usually pack my art supplies in my carry on so I tend to use pouches and organizers that can easily go in my bag, won’t weigh a ton, and I can use in the airport or on the plane. I was super surprised what I was able to put into the little black pouch above!

Have Art Supplies: Will Travel | creativity in motion

During the workshop we’ll be creating our art journal from basic office supplies, so I tried to include some of favorite materials also in this same category. I also included some materials that I use in my art therapy groups with teens and adults or in my own creative work. Here’s what I got in the bag (with a little room to spare!)

-Crayola’s Glitter and Metallic Markers (a favorite material of choice in my groups- available at Target!)

– Various blank artist trading cards, index cards, craft tags, smash pad papers

– Alcohol prep pads (love to use these for smudging and distressing)

– Double sided tape dispenser, glue sticks (of course!), liquid glue tube, mini wite out dispenser

– Glitter glue, plastic junk mail card (for spreading paint, glue)

– Various colored ink pens, MÅLA felt markers, white ink pens

– Black cotton cord and twine, thread & needle

– TSA approved scissors (important!), jet black StazOn ink pad (must have!)

– Washi tape

Have Art Supplies: Will Travel | creativity in motion

  IMG_6843

I also re-discovered a collection of mini ink pads that are perfect to bring along (one of my most favorite materials to use in my own art journaling), but will probably put them in their own small ziploc bag that will go into my suitcase!

IMG_6847

I am still working on gathering collage material that I want to bring. I have a ton of magazine photo collage stuff and different textures and patterns of paper that I could choose from. It was suggested by Lani to look for images that are connected to the population we work with.  Of course I’ll also be bringing my stash of dictionary pages and rub on transfer letters to use as well…..

Excited to discover what develops from this workshop!  🙂

Related Posts:

14 Secrets Challenge: Adventure Supplies & Guerrilla Art for the Soul

Twentythirteen Creating on the Go: My Mobile Art Stash

5 Responses to “Have Art Supplies, Will Travel: Summer 2016 Mobile Art Stash”


  1. Love this article! Thanks again for all your amazing work!


  2. I love seeing travel stashes. Can you please tell me how to use alcohol pads? I never heard of using them and you’ve got me curious. A friend just told me about your blog — very nice!


  3. Hi Pam! Thanks for your comment and stopping by– welcome! 🙂 I used alcohol pads to smudge and move around some of the color and ink on images from magazines (some are easier to do than others!)-and also to create a distressed, textured look to the page— sometimes I use the pads with pen or paint marker ink to move color around too—- I also use baby wipes, but I forgot to pick up some to include in this stash! I hope this helps! Best wishes!


  4. Yum. You’ve inspired me to look for the glitter markers for a little art sustenance group I’m running. Thank you.
    I’ll bet Lani’s workshops are fabulous! Enjoy.


Leave a Reply

