Revo’lution Bits: My 365 Project Begins

Day 6: Purple Light with Red String
Day 6: Purple Light with Red String

At the beginning of the New Year, I started my first 365 Art Project, inspired by my core intentions identified for my 2013 revo’lution.

I’ve been wanting to try a 365 project for a couple of years now, but usually resisted getting started because I wasn’t sure what to do or if it would be too overwhelming to focus on.   Then I did Hannah‘s 21 Days of Mindful Studio Practice this past fall and was super surprised how much I really enjoyed the process of taking the time to make art everyday (and how I really did it each and every day!). I also realized how much I missed this practice when the 21 days were over.

And then not long after that…Tracy’s inspiring mini book came into my life….

I am using a simple 3 x 1 book I received in October with a paper stash collection (thank you Tracy!) to create my art in for this new adventure.  I knew then that I would use this little book full of small slips of white paper and a metal book ring especially for this project.  Working small makes this daily creative effort manageable for me, as well as something I can easily take with me on the go to do.

Revo’lution Bits | 365 Art

The images here are my first 6 days…only 359 more to go!  The intentions light, stillness, and service have been the emerging foundations to these lil’ works of art.  I’ll keep you updated here each month with my progress.  Wish me luck! 🙂

Published by

Gretchen Miller, MA, ATR-BC

Gretchen Miller, MA, ATR-BC, ACTP: Registered Board Certified Art Therapist, TLC Certified Trauma Practitioner, Art Therapy Community Organizer, Artist...

9 thoughts on “Revo’lution Bits: My 365 Project Begins”

  1. Gretchen~I really like your 365 Art Project & hope that you can keep it up. It is already looking awesome. Can you imagine at the end of the year how great this is going to make you feel to have this to look back on? I know you will be SO proud of yourself!!! 🙂

  2. Gretchen, inspiring as ever. i too have wanted to do a 365 day challenge but have not started due tot he fear of stopping. I like the idea of the little book perhaps this would make it achievable. Cheers Janet

  3. I was touched by your mention of me here Gretchen– thank you.
    Janet, I began a 365 project which I stopped sometime in July, because my intent had changed. I learned so much along the way and it carried me directly into a series that lasted all fall. You just never know what’s going to happen when you start exploring…

  4. For me, you helped set the practice’s foundation Hannah! As I’ve been working on each lil piece of 365 art, good vibes and memories from my blessing cards fill the space too…The blessing cards helped create my 2013 revolution….I agree, you never know what’s going to happen w/ the process… and your note to be aware of this and where it leads you within, outside, or without the 365 concept is thoughtfully noted…Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.